December 19th, 2010

‘Tis the Season for Fantasy Awards

Sunday, December 19th, 2010

Those of us in the fantasy sports industry don’t do our thing for awards. We do it for the sake of our customers.

And awards.

These last couple of weeks on the calendar can be a particularly busy time for everyone — except maybe for Jehovah’s witnesses who don’t follow the NFL? I don’t know — so we thought it helpful to toss out a quick reminder on awards deadlines.

The Fantasy Sports Writers Association has had it’s submission process open since the middle of November, with the deadline approaching on Dec. 24. (That’s this Friday, for those of you who prefer to make your Christmas shopping as hectic and uncomfortable as possible.) You must be a FSWA member to be eligible for all but the Newcomer of the Year award, and nominations can be submitted here (in 15 categories):

FSWA nomination form

Those awards will be handed out at the January FSTA winter business conference in Las Vegas, along with the Fantasy Sports Trade Association’s Industry Recognition Awards.

The FSTA submission process has also begun, and is similarly open only to FSTA members. Whereas the FSWA honors focus primarily on individuals, the FSTA awards center on companies, contests, etc. Nominations can be entered for the nine categories here (through Jan. 5):

FSTA nomination form

In each case, non-members can become eligible for awards by joining the appropriate organization.